MY CLIPPER

Once upon a time, I used to have a clipper. A personal clipper that I took to the barber’s shop each time I needed to have a haircut or shave. My way of preventing the transmission of infections that could come from sharps….but that’s by the way.

After a while that I had been using the clipper, especially when I changed barbers, I noticed that I was always having a hard time under the clipper each time I visited the barber’s shop.

I would wince and withdraw my head in pain as the clipper is used on me. My clipper. I marveled at the “genius” of my former barber…..as I compared the ease and painlessness of having my hair cut by him…with the same clipper, my clipper.

I would complain about how good barbers are scarce…..because of how having a haircut/shave had become associated with pain for me. “These barbers don’t just know how to handle the clipper”, I complained.

I remember when I even lamented to one of the barbers about how poor he was at the art of cutting hair and shaving. He replied that he didn’t have any problems with other customers….and that people even respected his skills. I had marks on my face by the time I left his shop. Marks from the clipper, by his hand. As if I fought a lion. Well, I never visited his shop again.

This experience continued for some months until I reached one barber, after I had tried quite a number of them, and he made the observation that the teeth of my clipper had become blunt and bad.

That’s when I discovered that I had been my own problem all these months and yet blamed every other person for it.

Hmmmm.

If only. If only I had known from the outset. All the blame would have been unnecessary. All the come-and-go tribal marks. All the pain. From my own clipper.

This happens in reality too.

We blame others for a problem when we are really the problem. We conclude hastily that every other person is the problem, not us. We can even go to the extent of punishing others for our own faults, without knowing, of course.

We judge others without judging ourselves. A statement I once came across says we are good judges of the faults of others but better lawyers of our own faults. We are good at passing verdicts on what others do and better at defending our own part in the issue.

The great teacher, Jesus, once said, “First remove the log of wood in your own eye before you try to remove the speck in the other person’s eye”. Maybe after you’ve removed the log…you’ll find that there was even no speck in the eye you were staring at.

image

A lesson to learn and re-learn.

Don’t be quick to judge. You might be the culprit in your own court.

DS

About adedoyinsaliu

Analytical thinker. Outstanding personality. Ambitious loner. Sensitive Ideo-Realist. Interested in business, people & literature. Believer in God.
This entry was posted in Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

